Aircraft trajectory prediction

Predict with sufficient precision aircraft trajectories is essential for air traffic control systems, in particular to avoid conflicts between trajectories and collisions between aircraft. For many applications, it is not possible to be content with trajectory transmitted by the aircraft . This is particularly the case for many algorithms used in air conflict resolution and which requires testing a large number of alternative paths.

Most predictors use a mass-energy model (or "total energy") to predict aircraft future positions and velocities. Each plane is equivalent to its center of mass, which apply engine thrust, gravity, drag and aerodynamic lift. The aircraft dynamics is expressed in the form of differential equations. The future trajectory is calculated by integrating these equations over an interval of time, knowing the aircraft initial state(weight, thrust, position, speed, etc.), weather conditions (wind, temperature), and steering intentions (push Profile, target speed, road).

Unfortunately, most of these informations are either unknown by ground systems, either uncertain because of the wind and temperature. Mass and velocity data in profile climb are considered as sensitive information by some companies. The actual engine thrust, controlled by the position of the throttle, is not transmitted to the ground. With the establishment of air-ground links , all the necessary information will probably be transmitted to ground systems.

Pending an improvement in the data quality, several tracks can be explored to improve the trajectories prediction including :

Current work

Here are some recent work developped by MAIAA on "trajectory prediction" subject:

La prévision de trajectoires d'avions

Prévoir avec suffisamment de précision les trajectoires des avions est indispensable pour les systèmes de contrôle aérien, afin notamment d'éviter les conflits entre trajectoires et les collisions entre avions. Pour de nombreuses applications, il n'est pas possible de se contenter d'une trajectoire transmise par l'avion. C'est notamment le cas pour de nombreux algorithmes de résolution de conflits aériens, qui nécessitent de tester un grand nombre de trajectoires alternatives.

La plupart des prédicteurs utilisent un modèle masse-énergie (ou "à énergie totale") pour prévoir les positions et vitesses futures des avions. Chaque avion est assimilé à son centre de masse, auquel s'appliquent la poussée des moteurs, la trainée et la portance aérodynamiques, et la gravitation. La dynamique de l'avion s'exprime sous forme d'équations différentielles. La trajectoire future est calculée en intégrant ces équations sur un intervalle de temps, connaissant l'état initial de l'avion (masse, poussée, position, vitesse, etc), les conditions atmosphériques (vent, température), et les intentions de pilotage (profil de poussée, vitesses cible, route).

Malheureusement, la plupart de ces informations sont soit inconnues des systèmes au sol, soit entachées d'incertitude comme le vent et la température. La masse et le profil des vitesses en montée sont considérées comme des informations sensibles par certaines compagnies. La poussée réelle des moteurs, commandée par la position de la manette des gaz, n'est pas transmise au sol. Avec la mise en place de liaisons de données air-sol, toutes les informations nécéssaires seront sans doute un jour transmises aux systèmes au sol.

En attendant une amélioration de la qualité des données transmises, plusieurs pistes peuvent être explorées pour améliorer la prévision de trajectoires, parmi lesquelles :

Travaux en cours

Voici quelques-uns des travaux récents menés aux MAIAA sur la thématique "prévision de trajectoires" :