Optimization

Mathematics provide a strong theoretical framework and a wide range of methods to deal with different optimization problems that may be encountered in the management of air traffic.

The standard form of an optimization problem usually provides as follows:

min_fr.png

where f is the objective-function (to be minimized in the formulation), g the functions which model the inequality constraints, and h the functions which model the equality constraints.

Different classes of optimization methods

The choice of the optimization method depends on the problem addressed and choice modeling (discrete variables, continuous or random modeling uncertainties or not, etc.). It is also conditioned by the nature and properties of the objective function and constraints: linearity, convexity, presence or absence of constraints, the existence of an analytical formulation of functions and derivatives. Finally, we will aim to find a local optimum in a certain neighborhood, or search for a global optimum of the objective function.

Depending on the case, so we will talk about local or global optimization, continuous or discrete (combinatorial or integer) or mixed (combining continuous and integer variables), with or without constraints, deterministic or stochastic, convex or non-convex.

For their implementation, optimization methods most often use iterative algorithms. From a starting point chosen in the search space, or more points for the population algorithms, we try to iteratively improve the standard of the objective function.

These algorithms are themselves either deterministic or stochastic. In the latter case, they use a random walk guided by the heuristic. This is called meta-heuristics: evolutionary algorithms, simulated annealing, differential evolution, particle swarm, etc..

The mathematical optimization applied to the air traffic management

Here are some examples of work carried out MAIAA :

Research on optimization methods

MAIAA researchers also lead a research on mathematical optimization methods, including the following topics :

See also the page optimization and parallelism in Research / Computer science menu for ongoing research on the combination of meta-heuristic methods and intervals by a cooperative mechanism parallelism.

Optimisation

Les mathématiques offrent un cadre théorique solide et un vaste ensemble de méthodes pour traiter les différents problèmes d'optimisation qu'on peut rencontrer dans la gestion du trafic aérien.

La forme standard d'un problème d'optimisation s'énonce généralement sous la forme suivante :

min_fr.png

f est la fonction-objectif (à minimiser dans cette formulation), et où les fonctions g modélisent les contraintes d'inégalité, et les fonctions h les contraintes d'égalité.

Les différentes classes de méthodes d'optimisation

Le choix de la méthode d'optimisation dépend du problème traité et des choix de modélisation (variables discrètes, continues, ou aléatoires, modélisation ou non des incertitudes, etc). Il est également conditionné par la nature et les propriétés de la fonction-objectif et des contraintes : linéarité, convexité, présence ou non des contraintes, existence d'une formulation analytique des fonctions et des dérivées. Enfin, on pourra avoir pour objectif de trouver un optimum local dans un certain voisinage, ou bien de rechercher un optimum global de la fonction-objectif.

Selon les cas, on parlera donc d'optimisation locale ou globale, continue ou discrète (combinatoire, ou en nombres entiers) ou mixte (combinant variables continues et entières), avec ou sans contraintes, déterministe ou stochastique, convexe ou non-convexe.

Pour leur implantation, les méthodes d'optimisation utilisent le plus souvent des algorithmes itératifs. A partir d'un point initial choisi dans l'espace de recherche, ou de plusieurs points pour les algorithmes à population, on cherche itérativement à améliorer le critère de la fonction-objectif.

Ces algorithmes sont eux-mêmes soit déterministes, soit stochastiques. Dans ce dernier cas, ils font appel à une marche au hasard guidée par une heuristique. On parle alors de méta-heuristiques : algorithmes évolutionnaires, recuit simulé, évolution différentielle, essaim particulaires, etc.

L'optimisation mathématique appliquée à la gestion du trafic aérien

Voici quelques exemples des travaux menés au MAIAA :

La recherche sur les méthodes d'optimisation

Les chercheurs du MAIAA mènent également une activité de recherche sur les méthodes d'optimisation mathématique, notamment sur les sujets suivants :

Voir aussi la page optimisation et parallélisme du menu La recherche/Informatique pour les recherches en cours sur la combinaison de méta-heuristiques et de méthodes par intervalles par un mécanisme de parallélisme coopératif.